About Jyotish


What is Jyotish Sahshtra ( By Pandit Brajesh Pandey) 

India is the birthplace of many civilizations and cultures, also the birthplace of Vedic astrology & Vedic mathematics, Vedic astrology was practiced as well as mastered by ancient Indians, later Rishi Parashara wrote Jyotish Shastra formally & Rishi Jaimini added some important updates on the same.

In fact, our Panchang system can provide exact calculations about planet movements in advance of thousands of years. Jyotish Shastra is also a definite science and has the direct blessing of Gods, It is proven by the below facts, we all know that in Vedic Astrology, we use 9 planets and 12 zodiac signs, just see below facts, it proves that Jyotish has come from Gods.
  • The average length of human gestation is 9 months from the first day of the woman’s last menstrual period.
  • There are only 9 possible natural numbers ( 0 – 9)
  • There are nine universal substances or elements: Earth, Water, Air, Fire, Ether, Time, Space, Soul, and Mind.
  • Navaratri is a nine-day festival dedicated to the nine forms of Goddess Durga.
  • There are Nine Ratnas called Navaratna, meaning “nine jewels”
  • There are also nine kinds of Rasa.
  • Moreover, there are twelve zodiac signs ( Rashis)
  • There are twelve Jyotirlingas across the whole world
  • There are 12 months in a year

There are three parts of Jyotish shastra or Vedic Astrology

  1. Ganita Astrology is a Mathematical aspect of astrology, it involves various calculations related to the date of birth, the month of birth, year of birth, time of birth,  place of birth, the position of planets at the time of birth. A horoscope is generated after these calculations which consist of Lagna Kundli, Chandra Kundli, Navamansh Kundli, Vinshottari Mahadasha etc.
  2. Hora – Astrology – It deals with Individual horoscopes, or Jataka, or natal charts of a person. it also deals with Muhurta means selection of favourable planetary dispositions to achieve day-to-day success in life.
  3. Sanhita –  Astrology – This deals with weather forecasts, agricultural produce, natural disasters, floods, famines, wars, earthquakes, cyclones, market trends, changes in government, national and international events, and virtually anything that influences the masses.

Every human being or a subject is born at a specific place & this place is marked through longitudes and latitudes, In addition, time of birth & date of birth is also extremely important, these three aspects must be carefully noted as these are used in preparing the birth chart or Janam Kundli.  Hence Jyotish is an exact science ( not probability science), it can predict everything about one’s life, behaviour, career, work etc, in fact, we can also predict day-to-day all events precisely. This is also known as Falit Jyotish, Sunrise and type of Lagan on the eastern horizon forms The bases of Falit Jyotish, This is also known as Kundali or Janamang. it has total 12 sections & all planets are spread over it., the movement of these planets, nakshatras, rashi etc determines one’s life. these have a profound impact on one’s life and overall environment.


भारतीय ज्योतिष: भारत सदा से ही अपनी प्राचीन सभ्यता एवं संस्कृतियों के लिए विख्यात रहा है।

श्रृषियों मुनियों की सतत साधना मानव सभ्यता को समयानुसार मार्गदर्शन करती रही है।

ज्योतिष इसी क्रम मे एक ऐसा विज्ञान है जिसका ज्ञ्यान सर्वप्रथम‌ भारतीय मनीषियों एवं साधकों को हुआ।

भारतीय ज्योतिष के मुख्यतः तीन भाग हैं। – गणित, होरा एवं संहिता।

इन तीनो की अपनी विषेशता एवं उपयोगिता है।


उस समय पर आकाश मे नक्षत्र मण्डल मे स्थित ग्रहों की स्थिति एवं गति का निरुपण करने के लिए उपरोक्त तीनो विभागों का प्रयोग किया जाता है।

ज्योतिष एक ऐसा विज्ञान है जिसके द्वारा किसी भी व्यक्ति के स्वभाव, एवं कार्य का विश्लेषण हो सकता है। इतना ही नही ,जन्म दे लेकर मृत्यु पर्यन्त जीवन मे घटने वाली लगभग सभी घटनाओं का निरुपण हम ज्योतिष शाष्त्र द्वारा कर सकते हैं।

इसे फलित ज्योतिष कहते हैं।

फलित ज्योतिष का आधार होता है सूर्योदय तथा पूर्वी क्षितिज पर जातक के जन्म के समय उदित होने वाला लग्न।

इसी को प्रचलित भाषा मे कुण्डली या जन्मांग कहते हैं।


इसमे सभी ग्रहों के गतिशीलता का निर्णय उनके नक्षत्र भोग तथा राशि के अंश कला और विकला पर निर्भर होता है।

अतः आकाश मे सदैव गतिशील पिण्ड जो विभिन्न नक्षत्रों ( तारों) को पार करते हुए एक से दूसरे नक्षत्र को जाते हैं उन्हेग्रहकहते हैं।

मानव जीवन तथा वायुमण्डल पर इन ग्रहों का सीधा प्रभाव पडता है